Digital Magna Carta revealed by British Library

The British Library has revealed the current results of a public vote on the clauses that should make up a digital Magna Carta. The results are interesting.

Posted on 15 June 2015 - Net Neutrality
Tibus BY Tibus

undefinedPerhaps unsurprisingly the clauses that make up the current top 10, as voted for by a vote on the British Library website, are dominated by those that have made headlines in recent months.

Topics such as net neutrality, government surveillance and censorship all feature heavily in the list. Here's the British Library's digital Magna Carta as it currently reads:

The web we want will:

  1. not let companies pay to control it, and not let governments restrict our right to information.
  2. allow freedom of speech.
  3. be free from government censors in all countries.
  4. not allow any kind of government censorship.
  5. be available for all those who wish to use it.
  6. be free from censorship and mass surveillance.
  7. allow equal access to knowledge, information and current news worldwide.
  8. have freedom of speech.
  9. not be censored by the government.
  10. not sell our personal information and preferences for money, and will make it clearer if the company/Website intends to do so.

We've banged the net neutrality drum regularly over the last few years, so it is good to see that the public clearly see the value of it. As we have previously mentioned on this blog, we need to remain vigilant to ensure that we continue down the road towards securing long-term net neutrality.

Given that connectivity is also a key part of our business, it is interesting to note that the digital Magna Carta points towards improved networks around the country. The mention of availability of the web to all those who wish to use it and a separate clause that this access should be equal, indicates a public desire to see superfast broadband rolled out with uniformity.